Hockey Hall of Fame announcements



 TORONTO (March 6, 2018) – Lanny McDonald, Chairman of the Board of the Hockey Hall of Fame, announced today the appointment of a new member to the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee commencing with the 2018 nomination and election proceedings.  NBC hockey analyst, Pierre McGuire, will replace Scotty Bowman whose 15 year term limit concluded on December 31, 2017 after serving on the Selection Committee since 2003.

“I am very pleased to welcome Pierre to the Selection Committee, as he brings a wealth of knowledge that will complement the Committee’s deliberations in recognition of excellence in the game of hockey”, said McDonald.  “I also extend our utmost appreciation and gratitude to Scotty for his distinguished service and outstanding contributions to the Selection Committee.  Scotty’s incredible understanding and perspective of the game has been a tremendous resource throughout his tenure.”

“To receive a call from Lanny McDonald asking me to accept a position on the Hockey Hall of Fame Selection Committee is something I never thought was possible”, said McGuire.  “I am honoured and excited to know that I will be a part of this amazing group of hockey people whose mandate is to uphold the Hall’s standards of excellence in the process of celebrating the game’s greatest players, builders and officials.”

“I would like to thank the Hockey Hall of Fame for allowing me to participate on the Selection Committee for the past 15 years, which I have enjoyed immensely”, said Bowman.  “It has been a privilege for me to be associated with so many excellent hockey people and to play a contributing role in the selections for hockey’s highest level of career achievement.”  

In addition to the new appointment, David Branch (President, Canadian Hockey League), Brian Burke (President of Hockey Operations, Calgary Flames Hockey Club), Marc de Foy (2010 Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award Recipient), Mike Gartner (Honoured Member/Class of 2001) and Anders Hedberg (IIHF Hall of Fame/Class of 1997) were each re-appointed to the Selection Committee for a further three-year term expiring December 31, 2020.

On a separate subject matter, 2018 is a momentous year for the Hockey Hall of Fame as it will commemorate 75 years since its inception on September 10, 1943 and 25 years since opening its destination attraction at BCE Place (now Brookfield Place) on June 18, 1993.

In view of these significant milestone anniversaries, the Hockey Hall of Fame launched the “75/25” inaugural endowment fundraising campaign with the goal of contributing $1,000,000 in net proceeds from the Hockey Hall of Fame 75/25 Anniversary Legends Gala, the marquee event and focal point of the campaign to be held at historic Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto on Monday, June 25, 2018.

To achieve this fundraising goal, individuals and businesses can become Founding Members of the newly established Hockey Hall of Fame Development and Preservation Fund.  Up to 75 Founding Members each making a one-time contribution of $25,000 will receive (among other benefits) tickets to attend the “Legends Gala” in the presence of the Hockey Hall of Fame’s fraternity of Honoured Members and other special guests and entertainers.   Plans are also shaping up for various “75/25” themed promotional activities at the Hockey Hall of Fame, from June 18, 2018 to September 10, 2018, and a commemorative coffee table book titled “THE HALL” will be published by Montreal-based Griffintown Media for release in fall 2018.

The day after the “Legends Gala”, on Tuesday, June 26, 2018, the Selection Committee will meet to consider duly nominated candidates for election into Honoured Membership.  The announcement of the Class of 2018 will be made later that day at 3:00 PM and the annual Induction Celebration will be held on Monday, November 12, 2018.



(as appointed November 14, 2017)


John Davidson, Chairman                           Dublin, Ohio

Jim Gregory, Chairman Emeritus                Toronto, Ontario

David Branch                                               Toronto, Ontario

Brian Burke                                                  Calgary, Alberta

Colin Campbell                                            Toronto, Ontario

Bob Clarke                                                   Ocean City, New Jersey

Marc de Foy                                                 Longueuil, Quebec

Eric Duhatschek                                           Calgary, Alberta

Michael Farber                                             Verdun, Quebec

Ron Francis                                                  Raleigh, North Carolina

Mike Gartner                                                Richmond Hill, Ontario

Anders Hedberg                                          Stockholm, Sweden

Jari Kurri                                                       Espoo, Finland

Igor Larionov                                               Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Pierre McGuire                                            New Canaan, Connecticut

Bob McKenzie                                             Toronto, Ontario

David Poile                                                  Nashville, Tennessee

Luc Robitaille                                              Santa Monica, California

Bill Torrey                                                    West Palm Beach, Florida



Comments are closed.