The Kansas Sports Hall of Fame Inducts Ten New Members on October 5th!

The stars were out to see ten new members of the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame which were inducted at the annual Induction Ceremony on October 5, 2014. This year’s class included: eight-time state championship football coach from Smith Center Roger Barta, long-time University of Texas Athletic Director DeLoss Dodds, eight-time state championship football coach at three different classifications Bill Freeman, 1952 NCAA Basketball Champion and 1952 Olympic Basketball gold medalist Charlie Hoag, 2004 Olympian and fourteen time All-American swimmer Caroline Bruce McAndrew, K-State’s all-time rebounding leader Ed Nealy, one of the winningest collegiate baseball coaches of all-time Gene Stephenson, four-time NAIA All-American at Emporia State Bill Tidwell, two-time KU basketball All-American Walt Wesley, and two-time K-State basketball All-American Chuckie Williams.

Nearly 300 attendees heard the lessons and stories of these great inductees at the ceremony. The ceremony was recorded by Smoky Hills Public Television and will air throughout the Kansas public television stations later this fall.

This year’s class of ten inductees brings the total number of inductees to the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame to 237. For more pictures, please visit our website at or our photos on our Facebook page at:

Comments are closed.